Alternativer Text

Professorship Geothermal Energy

How can we foster the implementation of the German energy transition by the sustainable use of geothermal energy and how can we prepare our buildings to cope with upcoming challenges, such as climate change?

The professorship of Geothermal Energy of the Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences at the TUM Campus Straubing under lead of Prof. Dr. Thomas Vienken tackles these questions. Therefore, we identify limitations in practice and develop concepts and strategies to overcome these limitations.

Our applied research aims to derive innovative exploration and monitoring methods and strategies, e.g. to better understand and quantify the interaction between buildings or shallow geothermal energy use and the environment. In addition, we develop solutions for the ecological and economic sustainable integration of geothermal energy use in the building infrastructure during reconstruction and development of new quarters.

Contact

Professorship Geothermal Energy

Am Essigberg 3
D-94315 Straubing

Head

Prof. Dr. Thomas Vienken

Phone: +49 (0) 9421 187 445
Mail: thomas.vienken@hswt.de

Team Assistant

Sylvia Demmer-Höcher

Phone: +49 (0) 9421 187-201
Fax: +49 (0) 9421 187-211
Mail: sylvia-demmer-hoecher@hswt.de

Alternativer Text

Professur Geothermie

Wie können wir die Wärmewende als wichtigen Bestandteil der Energiewende in Deutschland durch die nachhaltige Nutzung der Geothermie weiter voranbringen und wie können wir unsere Gebäude besser an zukünftige Herausforderungen wie den Klimawandel anpassen?

Das sind zentrale Fragen, die in der Professur für Geothermie der Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf am TUM Campus Straubing unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Thomas Vienken bearbeitet werden. Dafür werden relevante Hemmnisse und Probleme in der Praxis identifiziert und angepasste Lösungskonzepte und Implementierungsstrategien entwickelt.

In der angewandten Forschung erarbeiten wir dafür innovative Erkundungs- und Monitoringmethoden, um beispielsweise die Wechselwirkung zwischen Gebäuden bzw. der Nutzung von Geothermie und der Umwelt besser zu erfassen und zu verstehen. Daneben entwickeln wir Lösungen zur ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltigen Einbindung der Geothermie in die Gebäudeinfrastruktur bei der Bestandssanierung und Entwicklung neuer Wohnquartiere.

Kontakt

Professur Geothermie

Petersgasse 18
94315 Straubing

Leitung

Prof. Dr. Thomas Vienken

Tel.: +49 (0) 9421 187 445
E-Mail: thomas.vienken@hswt.de